General repointing question

Tequila

So, I'm totally new to this hacking lark. I'm kinda following the Ultimate Tutorial, and I remembered that FE6's horseslaying weapons are a little picky when it comes to which horses to slay. So I decided to try to rectify this by adding the missing classes to the "effectiveness" list, namely nomads, troubadour, and valkyrie. However, there's no room. So obviously I should repoint this. My question is, where's the best location for this new table? Is there a certain threshold of 00's such that I can be sure I'm not going to overwrite something that will bring this game crashing around my ears? Is there a way that I can check whether a certain offset is being used in some Nightmare module? Or is it basically trial and error?

Also, a probably more challenging question: Is it possible to make FE6 Merlinus act like his FE7 counterpart (ie he doesn't require a character slot; you just decide whether you want him to show up or not (hell, even if he doesn't level up every chapter that's better than nothing))? And if so, is there a patch?

Thanks!

Thanks!

EDIT: Another question. Out of the 6 "sets" of effectiveness (Armors, Dragons, Cavalry, Flying, Divine dragonstone, and Armor+Cavalry), I only need to update Cavalry and Armor+Cavalry. Should I repoint the other values as well, even though I don't need to edit them? And if so, is that for any reason other than consistency?

Edited by Tequila

CT's link shows the following:

~~ FE 6 ~~

0x002DBF50 to 0x002DBF8C - used by FEditor auto patching system

0x00817A00 to 0x00A00000 - confirmed

0x00A297B0 to 0x00B00000 - confirmed

0x00B013F0 to 0x01000000 - confirmed

But my FE6 rom's highest offset is 007FFFFF, which means all but the first of those options doesn't exist.

I checked FE7 and FE8; both of those go up to 00FFFFFF.

I'm using HxD; could it be not displaying everything? Did I get a faulty rom? The size of FE6 is 8192 KB compared to FE7 and FE8's 16384 KB.