Arkel's original music commission thread

arkel

Not quite sure where this topic might belong, but went with the most obvious answer to post it in rom hacking. I am a composer and am willing to take on any of you wonderful rom hackers as clients. An example of my work can be found on my SoundCloud (link below). Original music is a great way to create interest in your hack so I hope some of you will consider hiring me.

https://soundcloud.com/jay-maenhout/sets/custom-fire-emblem-tracks

Edited by arkel

Hey, that's not bad for the retro video game feel. I'm curious though... how much would hiring you cost?

It would depend on exactly how much work you'd like me to do. If this thread generates enough interest, I'll post a document with how my pricing works. The thing to keep in mind is that being a composer is my actual real life profession, so I literally can't afford to be terribly generous.

I'm intrigued, but I would need to see more than just one song and would obviously need a rundown on how pricing works (since these are not free or cheap, I would imagine) and need to get a gauge on your willingness to work within certain technical limits etc.

Passing off one of Lufia's Battle Themes as an original recruit theme and asking to get paid for it isn't exactly the greatest start.

mm it isn't explicit that it's a remake but it's implied from the picture and the fire emblem tag...

though op um...you only have 2 tracks. i think you should have more examples of your work. i mean, i only have 2 tracks on my soundcloud that i made like a week ago and they're pretty "arranged" remixes. not going to link my soundcloud and it's not in my profile i'm not plugging i swear

but yeah the 2 tracks on your page aren't bad it's just that i don't feel that it's some of your best work, esp considering the first track is hardly changed from the original.