Robocop an Inspector Gadget Ripoff?

Anacybele

Now I'm not bashing the movie, because I haven't seen Robocop. But from what I know of it, it seems almost EXACTLY the same as Inspector Gadget, particularly the Disney movie.

I saw a trailer for it on the display TVs where I work, then I later found a DVD copy on the floor in the warehouse underneath some clothing spinners (who knows how it got there...) and read the description on the back.

Robocop is a human police officer who was turned into a partly robotic super cop after being critically injured. So is Inspector Gadget in the movie.

But the robotics almost cause something catastrophic to happen. The same happens in Inspector Gadget, albeit in a somewhat different way, I believe.

The only real difference is that Inspector Gadget is more comedic. But otherwise, these two appear to be a lot alike. I'm a big Inspector Gadget fan and used to watch the cartoon all the time and I loved the movie. I don't particularly fancy the idea of something copying it.

But if I'm wrong and Robocop isn't as similar as he seems, let me know now. :P

The similarities begin and end with robotic individuals being in service of the law. That's really it. Rip-off is too harsh a word.

Watch the original Robocop if you want to see exactly how different they are.

The similarities begin and end with robotic individuals being in service of the law.

And their origins. I just described both in my post.

And how do you want to be credible if you haven't seen the source material?

I never said it was DEFINITELY a rip-off. Just that it seemed like one. I'm sorry if I'm wrong, geez...

I never said it was DEFINITELY a rip-off. Just that it seemed like one. I'm sorry if I'm wrong, geez...

Consider watching the source material before accusing the creators of plagiarism. Otherwise you'd probably escalate further and say something such as The Hunger Games is ripping off Battle Royale.