Jump to content


Photo

FE3 (Mystery of the Emblem) Translation Patch


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 VincentASM

VincentASM

    Musical Heartbunny

  • Administrator
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:New Mystery of the Emblem

Posted 11 January 2009 - 01:11 PM

Current progress

Patch (zipped):
Fe3.zip

Missing:

  • Stats for the class scroll
Buggy:
  • Scrolling Intro (don't press anything for a while and you'll see it)
  • Various small graphical things.
Complete:
  • Everything else. :)
Fire Emblem 3 translation patch, I'm hacking, Vincent's translating, and Cleteromagos and AceNoctali provided some much-needed translations as well. Additional editing help provided by Devon_v and KiddoCabbusses. Nearly all the text is translated, and nearly everything that's translated is in the game.

New Patch (6/21, version 0.98):
New script revision! As always, credit goes to Vincent, who had help from Devon_v and KiddoCabbusses editing.

I knew I kept forgetting to do something. Anyway, if RPGuy96 comes here, I'll probably make them the topic creator instead.

#2 Kiddo

Kiddo

    The only guy who'd list BSFE as his Favorite if he could.

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:N/A

Posted 12 January 2009 - 08:45 PM

Oh goodie. Nice to have a new thread for it.

I want to ask - I tried the 1.1 patch version I used to test the translation itself on my ROM copier, but apparently on that the command menus and battle screens glitch up and scramble. Is this some real-hardware specific issue, or am I doing something wrong that the emulator doesn't note...?

#3 Herr Wozzeck

Herr Wozzeck

    Crazy Contemporary Music Fanboy

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boston, MA
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Radiant Dawn

Posted 13 January 2009 - 08:03 PM

Oh goodie. Nice to have a new thread for it.

I want to ask - I tried the 1.1 patch version I used to test the translation itself on my ROM copier, but apparently on that the command menus and battle screens glitch up and scramble. Is this some real-hardware specific issue, or am I doing something wrong that the emulator doesn't note...?

It's probably the ROM file itself that's the problem; I remember this happened to me when I applied the translation patch to FE4. Try a different ROM file and see what happens.

#4 Kiddo

Kiddo

    The only guy who'd list BSFE as his Favorite if he could.

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:N/A

Posted 14 January 2009 - 10:40 AM

I guess I'll try it with the 1.0 patch, particularly since no one's ever been able to tell me what the differences were. Thanks for the tip, I'll see if it gives a good result.

(As for FE4, I can't get that to boot at all. The only one I got to play exactly as it does as if emulated is Thracia).

#5 Kiddo

Kiddo

    The only guy who'd list BSFE as his Favorite if he could.

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:N/A

Posted 15 January 2009 - 10:05 PM

Hmm. No luck. a Completely different ROM gives an identical result.

It must be something else.

#6 Herr Wozzeck

Herr Wozzeck

    Crazy Contemporary Music Fanboy

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boston, MA
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Radiant Dawn

Posted 17 January 2009 - 04:31 PM

Hmm. No luck. a Completely different ROM gives an identical result.

It must be something else.

When I said ROM, I meant the file itself, not the patch.

What happened with me was this: I downloaded one version of the FE4 ROM and applied the translation to that, but the text got all garbled up. So then I downloaded a different ROM file and applied the same patch to it and it worked fine.

I'm not sure if you understood me properly there.

#7 Kiddo

Kiddo

    The only guy who'd list BSFE as his Favorite if he could.

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:N/A

Posted 17 January 2009 - 08:13 PM

That's exactly what I meant. -_-;

(EDIT: Also, blast it. After all my tries FE4 finally spew ed out it's Copy protection message. Aw, well.)

Edited by Kiddo, 18 January 2009 - 12:01 AM.


#8 Herr Wozzeck

Herr Wozzeck

    Crazy Contemporary Music Fanboy

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boston, MA
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Radiant Dawn

Posted 19 January 2009 - 08:38 PM

[quote name='Kiddo' post='315515' date='Jan 17 2009, 09:13 PM']That's exactly what I meant. -_-;[/quote]
Oh, okay then. In that case, I'm not quite sure how to help. Sorry.

#9 Kiddo

Kiddo

    The only guy who'd list BSFE as his Favorite if he could.

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:N/A

Posted 20 January 2009 - 05:12 PM

Well, I've been trying to think of things that might help. I put in the original Japanese ROM and it works fine, so it's not like there's an inherent ROM copier incompatibility....

I'm honestly pondering if it's a problem with it running on real hardware. Who were the other folks who tested this on such and what was their setup? I got a Super UFO PRO 7 34M.

#10 gundersmoot

gundersmoot

    Member

  • Member
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Sword of Seals

Posted 22 July 2009 - 11:58 AM

I got nothing but garbage for both of these patches. Neither of them seems to work.

#11 gundersmoot

gundersmoot

    Member

  • Member
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Sword of Seals

Posted 22 July 2009 - 11:59 AM

What I think it might be is that this rom is lacking a header.

#12 VincentASM

VincentASM

    Musical Heartbunny

  • Administrator
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:New Mystery of the Emblem

Posted 22 July 2009 - 12:18 PM

SNESTool can add a header back on. There might be some other programs that can do the same.

#13 GrandMaster

GrandMaster

    MasterEmblem

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fire Emblem world
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Sacred Stones

Posted 15 October 2009 - 03:45 AM

Wow i find it !! :lol:

Long time i search patch for FE3 :)

Thanks advance !!

#14 Aozaki Touko

Aozaki Touko

    空の境界

  • Member
  • Gender:Female
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Genealogy of the Holy War

Posted 17 November 2009 - 10:53 AM

This is weird, but I have about 8 different releases of the FE3 ROM and this patch doesn't work with any of them in ZSNES or snesx9

in the rom file name the differences are stuff like (h1)(b1)(h2), etc... I assume the H stands for header, but it's not working with any of them.

Edited by Aozaki Touko, 17 November 2009 - 11:03 AM.


#15 VincentASM

VincentASM

    Musical Heartbunny

  • Administrator
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:New Mystery of the Emblem

Posted 17 November 2009 - 12:56 PM

I have no clue why you'd need eight different releases. I'm guessing there's times two for the two versions of the game, and another times two for the headers, as you mentioned. No clue what the other factor could be though.

The only thing I can really suggest is download the ROM from somewhere else. There shouldn't be a shortage of places that distribute SNES ROMs.

#16 Aozaki Touko

Aozaki Touko

    空の境界

  • Member
  • Gender:Female
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Genealogy of the Holy War

Posted 17 November 2009 - 08:40 PM

Eh, I've tried three separate sources, I'll search for more :/

#17 Luftwaffe

Luftwaffe

    Member

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Mystery of the Emblem

Posted 20 November 2009 - 09:01 PM

I used snes tools and gave the rom a header then got it patched. The fucking thing freezes at the map right after the intro. The music keeps playing though.

#18 VincentASM

VincentASM

    Musical Heartbunny

  • Administrator
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:New Mystery of the Emblem

Posted 21 November 2009 - 08:27 AM

Did the game work fine after it had the header added and before it was patched?

If it does work fine, what filetype is your FE3 ROM? Eg. .SMC

#19 Luftwaffe

Luftwaffe

    Member

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Mystery of the Emblem

Posted 21 November 2009 - 06:32 PM

nvm, i've gotten it to work.

#20 calculuswhiz

calculuswhiz

    No Affiliation

  • Member
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Illinois
  • Favorite Fire Emblem Game:Mystery of the Emblem

Posted 14 May 2010 - 06:49 PM

It's also missing the non-battle-animation levelup/item obtained/item broken notifier.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Lamia