Rhayader's maps

Amiratasiru

I sometimes get interested in mapping, but never commit to completing a map or being happy with one. After looking at some of Bky's I gained some inspiration to try my hand at mapping. I'd appreciate some pointers on what I should improve on.

To start out, I only have two maps; one I did at the start of the year and the other I finished minutes ago.

First, the one less recent...

28a497aea4.png

And the new one.

71c602662d.png

Edited by Rhayader

I really like these :0

One thing I think you should change are the paths in the second one, though; IMO they should be more broken up

There's also 5 forts reeeeeally close by, and only a few tiles of passage between the top and bottom parts (although that doesnt matter if its not going in a romhack, i guess)

Edited by Bky

Uguu, my map idol remain calm

I don't really have anything planned for these maps yet. I've been brainstorming romhack/FEXNA ideas but that's about it, I'm not good at keeping at an idea. Though, I am approaching the design as I would if it were to be in a romhack.

Yeah, I realised that 5 forts so close was a little much. The idea was once you get close to that area they spawn 1-2 waves of soldiers, cavaliers, etc. but that's a little much so close together. I changed it around a bit, giving it a more refined direction for you to take, opening it up a little more and also getting rid of two of the forts.

91d1c7cd5a.png

Look better now?

It looks a lot better now that it's more cleared up, but paths are usually more broken up, i.e. ch15 from fe7

15.png

also some more things that bug me

ytP1n5z.png

Uguu, my map idol remain calm

omg this made my day

Edited by Bky

Cool maps. They look fairly clean, though maybe a little generic at the moment...(nothing standing out to me, but on the flip side perhaps that means that it fits well with the style?) Got more?

Edited by TheErrantShepherd