Sacred Blaze's Maps and Stuff

Sacred Blaze

Hey there.

Whilst I'm not working on anything major just right now, I don't want my skills to dwindle too much.

So in the meantime I'm gonna do some stuff. It'll mostly be maps, but I might do some OK-ish sprites sometime later as well.

It'll be a slow roll, but here's what I have so far:

[spoiler=Maps]

3t0pTlS.png

v5K9gkj.png

5XU0zVP.png

mkGVKwh.png

PqKLrq3.png

IoF3M7l.png

[spoiler=Sprites]

H3ox1ye.png
WeaWiXH.png

1WnIcsM.png

oPaEKiO.png

P85lp8O.png

UmzVowV.png

P96LWaC.png
d6EEqbu.png

8Rn27wS.png

pFOovVk.png

QxXzfUy.png

LrZ8XPw.png

SqJNnlY.png

9DY7ptr.png

bqwYude.png

Edited by Sacred Blaze

Mostly good all-around. The only relatively major issue I'm noticing is in the first map with the roads. They are rather direct and unbroken, as opposed to being random and naturally worn paths. The third, while displaying this to a little bit, does a slightly better job of feeling natural. I'm no real expert on mapping, but Primefusion's Outdoor Mapping Tutorial should help give a demonstration on how to make this better.

You definitely seem to have mastered indoor mapping, however, and have demonstrated well your knowledge of how height variation works. Kudos, as this is something few grasp. There are some places shading is missing on the indoor map, though this could have simply been an accidental oversight. When dealing in stairs, shaded tiles should fall below the bottom step to help give the illusion that the stairs are actually elevated (covered in Primefusion's Indoor Mapping Tutorial). Also, the wall just to the right of your large staircase appears to be missing shading at the base.

Fix these things and these maps will be top-notch. Hope this is helpful :)

Edited by Rethel34

The indoor map has a height inconsistency in the throne room. The pillars are 2 tiles high, but the walls are only 1 tile high (they're connected to the wooden floored hall on the right which has 1 tile high walls).